European Solidarity Vaccines - Agreement on Presidency's proposal to support Member States in need

Following the informal video conference on 25 March 2021, the members of the European Council adopted a statement confirming the pro-rata population key for the allocation of vaccines and tasked the COREPER “to address the issue of the speed of delivery of vaccines.

Today, an agreement has been reached on a one-off solution. It allows for a meaningful expression of solidarity through the distribution of close to 3 million vaccines to the Member States most in need. 19 Member States (Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain and Sweden) receive the pro-rata of 6,66 million vaccines. Austria, Czechia and Slovenia receive the pro-rata of the 10 million vaccines. 5 Member States (Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia and Slovakia) in addition to the prorata of 10 million vaccines, receive pro-rata of 2.854.654, as solidarity vaccines.